great and small 


Nothing boils my buttons more than when people seem to have no care for animals or wildlife. How can that even be possible? I just do not understand how one can look into the eyes of an animal and feel no compassion. 

    I am a huge fan of Little House on the Prairie. It has been awhile since I read the books themselves but I believe this happened in Little House in the Big Woods. One day, Pa was out hunting for food to feed his family. It was officially the deer season, so he could hunt for deer. Well, he was out hunting. I believe he was perched in a tree, scoping the land for a nice big buck to shoot. Eventually, he saw one. He was ever so quiet, making the smallest of movements, slowly and steadily raising his gun, beads of sweat rolling down his face. He was about to shoot. But then. . .he saw the eyes of the deer. And he couldn’t do it. He let the deer get away. He saw, in that moment, just how beautiful and peaceful that deer seemed. 

    My friend’s new boyfriend is almost totally heartless when it comes to animals. I understand if you just aren’t a huge fan of animals. Believe me, that is how I am with children. And yes, the children that come into my vet clinic have worse behavior than the animals. It’s sad. But anyway, he always tells stories of how he and his friends used to shoot coyotes in the face with paintball guns and how they would shoot squirrels with BB guns. How cruel do you have to be to do something like that? 

    He tells those stories when I tell stories of how much I adore animals. It just breaks my heart. My boyfriend understands my feelings and tells my friend’s boyfriend that it is not right to do that. Which, it isn’t right. It isn’t right at all. 

    Next time you are out and about in nature, and you happen to see an animal, don’t keep walking as if it’s not even there. Just stop for a minute. Take the time to look in the eyes of that animal. Then, you will see how beautiful it truly is. And your heart and your mind will be forever changed. 

 “An animal’s eyes have the power to speak a great language.” 

― Martin Buber

Leave a Reply

